Mailing List LoganberryPressReleases@logan.com Message #31
From: Harriett R. Logan <harriett@logan.com>
Subject: Loganberry Books: Nov/Dec/Jan 2006-07 Calendar
Date: Wed, 25 Oct 2006 14:16:53 -0400
To: <LoganberryPressReleases@logan.com>
Loganberry Books
Events Calendar  November / December / January  2006-07
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, November 2, 6-8pm
Dede Moore:  The Return of the Flying Carpets
Annex Gallery Opening Reception
Long-time dealer and expert in Oriental Rugs, Dede Moore returns to the Annex Gallery with a treasure trove of woven art and Turkish treats.  Dede has a knack for turning any space into a rich and colorful delight; her Gallery show last year was noted as a fantasical journey to another world.  Come experience the magic, and take a piece home with you.  Or perhaps the magic carpets will offer you a ride... 
Show continues through December 4.
preview photo

Thursday, November 16, 7pm
N.O.B.S. Forums
Robert H. Jackson, Book Talks:  Some Reflections on assembling a book

Join us for a conversation with Cleveland collector and international bibliophile Robert Jackson as he shares stories about assembling his latest book, Book Talk. Following in the tradition of John Carter, Graham Pollard, and Michael Sadlier, Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting and Special Collections takes the reader on a tour of some major ideas and controversies now current in the rare book world. Robert Jackson has assembled these writings of an eminent group of scholors, publishers, librarians, booksellers, and collectors that address issues facing contemporary society. Topics such as the future of the book in a printed-format, the internet and collecting trends are some of the issues discussed. This important work belongs on the reading list of all book lovers.  Book signing to follow the lecture.
Author bio:  Robert Jackson is a senior partner at Kohrman Jackson & Krantz P.L.L., Cleveland, Ohio, and is a noted speaker and writer of and about rare books, literature and travel.  Recently he traveled to Greenland on a film trip to record the life of Rockwell Kent.  His article about Kent will appear shortly in Fine Books and Collections.  A member of the Rofant Club, Mr. Jackson is involved as trustee or officer of many non-profit organizations.
Free to NOBS members, $3 non-members.
http://www.nobsweb.org/
Images:  Robert Jackson  and  Book Talk cover

Friday, November 24, 11am-8pm
Saturday, November 25, 11am-5pm

Sunday, November 26, 1-5pm
33rd Annual Larchmere Holiday Stroll
Now in its third decade, the Larchmere Holiday Stroll is the perfect holiday shopping event for both the aficionado and the jaded.  Why?  Because the 50 locally-owned, independent shops and services that make their home on Larchmere Boulevard create an old world shopping village in a real world neighborhood.  Entertainment throughout the weekend will be provided by several Cleveland Heights High chamber ensembles, Sylvia Perry's Heritage Chorale, and Cleveland icon Mr. Jingeling, celebrating his 50th anniversary with a visit to Larchmere on Friday, 1-3pm.  If you're seeking something original and unique for this year's gift giving, be sure to make Larchmere a shopping destination. 
http://www.larchmere.com/
Holiday Stroll Postcard image


Saturday Nov. 25, 2006; 11am-5pm
Sunday Nov. 26, 2006; 11am-4pm
Dunham Tavern Antiques Show
The best, and longest-running, antiques show in town (this is 111st show!).  Come find fabulous furniture, china, glass, silver, quilts, jewelery, prints, and, yes, even some books.  Join us at the Shaker Heights Bryon Middle School at Shaker Blvd. and Warrensville Center Road. 
http://dunhamtavern.org/

Thursday, December 7
The Antique Maps of
John Cary and Alvin Jewitt Johnson
Annex Gallery Opening Reception
John Cary (1754-1835) began work as an engraver and set up business in London as a map publisher. He became one of the most prolific mapmakers of his time and was the first engraver to produce maps of utility by breaking the trend of highly decorative maps. Cary produced his maps for reference and practical use, compared to many of his predecessors whose maps had been produced as much as for works of art as for geographical reference. Alvin Jewitt Johnson (1830s-1880s) followed in the footsteps of mapmakers like Cary and Colton, producing high-quality and useful maps and atlases.  Examples of both their work will on display and for sale in the Annex Gallery during December, many beautifully framed.
Show continues through December 30.
Background information on John Cary and Alvin Jewitt Johnson

Thursday, December 21, 7pm
N.O.B.S. Forums
Show and Tell Session

Bring your biblio treasures and tell us their stories…  then hear what the local experts, dealers, and afficianados think.   Just in time for the holidays!  Bought something great for your spouse?  Learn more about it before the presentation day.  And crow a little about your great find with those who love a good story, and especially, a good book.
http://www.nobsweb.org/

Thursday, January 4, 6-8pm
Leena Nevalainen-Smith:  Soulful Silence
Annex Gallery Opening Reception
Leena Nevalainen-Smith is a Finnish-born artist, now living in Shaker Heights. She has an interest in the individual human experience. Her favorite subject is people frozen in an emotionally charged moment in time, often inspired by news from around the world. Leena’s medium is relief printing, including linocuts, woodcuts, as well as resingrave engraving.
image of Explainer

Thursday, January 18, 7pm
N.O.B.S. Forums

Jim Best:  Illustrated Books
Jim Best is a long-time collector and dealer of rare books.  He has studied and collected the best of the best in 20th century illustrated books, and will bring his top ten list, with examples, to this talk on fine illustrated books.

** Further information and pictures are available for all events listed.  Just ask! **

peace,
Harriett
harriett@logan.com


Loganberry Books
13015 Larchmere Boulevard;  Shaker Heights, Ohio 44120;  216.795.9800
Monday-Saturday 10am-6pm
Additional Holiday Hours:  Thursdays and Fridays til 8pm, Sundays 1-5pm


This is a Press Release from Loganberry Books.  Archives and Newsletters:  http://mail.logan.com/lists/
To subscribe: LoganberryPressReleases-on@logan.com.   To unsubscribe: LoganberryPressReleases-off@logan.com.


Subscribe (FEED) Subscribe (DIGEST) Subscribe (INDEX) Unsubscribe Mail to Listmaster